GVEA’s 2019 Annual Meeting Wrap-up

On the evening of May 2, 2019, GVEA hosted 493 people at their Annual Members’ Meeting. Fairbanks drew a crowd of 449 at Lathrop High School’s Hering Auditorium. This was the third year that the meeting was also video-streamed to Delta’s Community Center and Healy’s Tri-Valley Community Center; attendance at these satellite sites were 36 and 8, respectively.

Updates were provided on several big GVEA projects by President & CEO Cory Borgeson and the board of directors:

  • GVEA’s 563-kilowatt solar farm
  • GVEA’s new carbon reduction pledge
  • Launching of GVEA new member portal – My Account

Prior to the meeting being called to order, informational booths were featured, emphasizing GVEA’s services and programs. Board of director candidates from districts 5 and 6 were also available to meet members before the ballots are mailed on May 10.

2019 scholarship winners were announced:

  • $2,000 continuing education: Logan Lockwood, Daniel Manley & Kiara Simpson
  • $2,500 academic: Travis Brase, Sam Delamere & Isabel Lesseig
  • $15,000 academic: Sabrina White, a Raven Homeschool senior from Nenana

Congratulations to the following door prize winners:

  • $250 Electric Credit: James & Linda Conley; Doug & Lisa Jones; Guy & Patrice Lee; Ken Rydberg
  • $500 Electric Credit: Roger & Melinda Evans; Mary & Delmar Lashinksi; Hiroe Petrie; Alfred & Erna Sturmann

A total of 50 members participated in the member comment segment of the program. To view this year’s meeting and annual report, please visit: http://www.gvea.com/inside/about/annualmeeting.